Year 2021-2022 : Motifs in cinema

Editorial

Focus

Participants

Blog

Last year

Encomntros P. M. Goulet

Le sacrifice, Andrei Tarkovsky

Nature et Nostalgie, Digna Sinke

Nouvelle vague, J-L. Godard

Goupi Mains Rouges, Jacques Becker


The Wold Shadow, Brakhage

India, Roberto Rossellini

Le vent nous emportera, A. Kiarostami

 


 

EDITORIAL

New start, new year, new subject.

The motifs in cinema - tree, mirror, window, shadow, umbrella, staircase, and so many others - give great freedom to travel and compare, within and between films, through works of fiction as well as documentaries, or experimental works.

This year 44 workshops are being organised in 15 countries, including 8 regions in France (metropolitan and overseas).

Loyalty of the partners who have been involved in this programme for years, newcomers (such as the EYE Filmmuseum in Amsterdam).

Support from the ACE (Association of European Cinematheques), aware of the role that cinematheques have to play in film education throughout Europe.

In the Ile de France region, coordination will be provided by the association Documentaire sur grand écran, in association with Ciné 104.

However, the future of the CCAJ is still pending.

 

Focus

After the subject of time in the year 2020-2021 - associated with a period in which reality was becoming more distant and abstract - we thought it would be interesting to return to the things themselves. They are the raw material of cinema.

But while the things that are shot are countless within a film, many of them are merely incidental and do not acquire the status of a motif.

For a thing to become a motif, the filmmaker must be aware of the way in which he or she is going to treat it (in the mise en scène, in the script, through the frame and the light) so that it becomes a cinematic material, an important piece of the film.

Like a painter who chooses a bunch of flowers, a mountain or a particular face to consciously make it, with the technique at his disposal, an element of his canvas and his pictorial representation of the world.

Motifs can be found on several levels, closely intertwined in the creation of the film.

Things of the world. The tree, the umbrella, the swing, etc. The filmmaker begins by choosing them as motifs that he needs or wants for his film. Then he has to choose among the things that belong to the same category: this tree, that bicycle, etc.

Basic and recurring scenographic sites: the staircase, the pedestrian crossing, the window, etc. Certain film motifs, which are often scenographic sites, have great "narrative" power. At the same time, they induce scenario situations and offer strong virtualities of cutting, of points of view and of filming.

Specific means of cinema. Cinema willingly uses visual motifs that share an affinity with its language and specific dispositifs: the window, the mirror, the shadow, etc. Is the window, for example, shot from outside the house, as a frame within a frame, or on the contrary from inside the house with a "view" on the outside? In a shot where someone is looking into a mirror, does the filmmaker choose to show only the reflection in the mirror or, on the contrary, to include the back of the person looking at themselves in the frame? Is the shadow of a character filmed with the character in the same frame or is the shadow shown in isolation, without the character from whom it comes?

Elements of the filmmaker's personal themes. Some filmmakers, like some painters (Cézanne and the Sainte-Victoire, David Hockney and the swimming pool, Morandi and the bottles) have favourite motifs that inspire them and to which they keep returning. Like Bresson's hands, Sergio Leone's long coats flapping in the wind, Tarkovsky's stagnant waters, the "fragments of nature" in all of Terrence Malick's films, etc.

Some motifs even end up bearing the singular mark that a filmmaker has stamped on them, and are constitutive of his poetics. For example, Godard's " book-face " motif.

Many cinema motifs were already present in the history of painting: we will sometimes follow the painting-cinema genealogy of certain motifs such as the tree, the hair, the mirror, the swing, etc.

Finally, as certain visual motifs can be found in many films, we can compare how filmmakers work with them. For example, how did Jean Renoir, Nicholas Ray, Federico Fellini and Ingmar Bergman shoot a woman on a swing?

 

Alain Bergala

 

Participants

GERMANY: Deutsche Kinemathek, Berlin (Jurek Sehrt) with Universität Bremen - (Bettina Henzler) / DFF - Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum, Frankfurt am Main (Christine Kopf) ARGENTINA: Cero en Conducta, Rosario (Emiliano Ovejero, Ana Belén Pagiola) with Institut Français d'Argentine / Quiero cine ! , Buenos Aires (Florencia Fernández Feijoo) BRAZIL: Imagens em Movimento - RAIAR, Rio de Janeiro (Ana Dillon) with Cinemateca do Museu de Arte Moderna / Escola Carlitos, São Paulo (Manuela Mendez Leal Anabuki) with Cinemateca Brasileira BULGARIA: Arte Urbana Collective, Sofia (Ralitsa Assenova) with Festival "Rencontres du Jeune Cinéma Européen" CHILE: Cero en Conducta (Nicolas Guzman), with Instituto de la Comunicación e Imagen - Universidad de Chile, Santiago (Maria Inés Silva) FINLAND : Valve film School for Children (Tommi Nevala) (new) ITALY: Cineforum Teramo, Teramo (Dimitri Bosi) JAPAN: Children meet cinema, Tokyo (Etsuko Dohi) LITHUANIA: Meno Avilys, Vilnius (Ginte Zulyte) NETHERLANDS: EYE Filmmuseum, Amsterdam (Florine Wiebenga) (new) PORTUGAL: Os Filhos de Lumière, Lisbon (Teresa Garcia) with Cinemateca Portuguesa - Museo do Cinema SPAIN: Cinema en curs - A Bao A Qu, Barcelona (Núria Aidelman) with the Filmoteca de Catalunya UNITED KINGDOM: British Film Institute, London (Mark Reid) / Screen Argyll - Scotland (Alasdair Satchel) URUGUAY: Cineduca - CFE, Montevideo (Cecilia Cirillo Chiesa) with Cinemateca Uruguaya 

FRANCE

AUVERGNE-RHÔNE-ALPES: Cinéma Mon Ciné, Saint-Martin-d'Hères (Pascale Puig) CORSICA: Corsica.doc, Ajaccio and Cinémathèque de Corse, Porto-Vecchio (Annick Peigné-Giuly) GUADELOUPE: L'Artchipel, Scène nationale de la Guadeloupe (Suzie Belair) ILE-DE-FRANCE: Le CCAJ! Documentaire sur Grand Ecran, Ciné 104, Paris (Nathalie Bourgeois, Sabine Costa) MARTINIQUE: Tropiques Atrium, Scène nationale de Martinique, Basse-Terre (Steve Zebina) NOUVELLE-AQUITAINE: Cinéma L'Utopie, with the association L'Ecran livradais (Alexandre Anton) OCCITANIA: Institut Jean Vigo - Cinémathèque euro-régionale, Perpignan (Frédéric Borgia) PROVENCE-ALPES-CÔTE D'AZUR: Cinéma Jean Renoir, Martigues (Henri Denicourt)

Année 2021-2022 : Les motifs au cinéma

Édito

Focus

Participants

Blog

Année précédente

Encomntros P. M. Goulet

Le sacrifice, Andrei Tarkovsky

Nature et Nostalgie, Digna Sinke

Nouvelle vague, J-L. Godard

Goupi Mains Rouges, Jacques Becker


The Wold Shadow, Brakhage

India, Roberto Rossellini

Le vent nous emportera, A. Kiarostami

 


 

Édito

Nouveau départ, nouvelle année, nouveau sujet.

Les motifs au cinéma - arbre, miroir, fenêtre, ombre, parapluie, escalier, et tant d’autres - donnent une grande liberté de circuler et de comparer, au sein des films et entre les films, à travers des œuvres de fiction mais aussi de documentaire, ou encore des formes expérimentales.

Cette année 44 ateliers sont organisés dans 15 pays, dont 8 régions en France (métropole et outremer).

Fidélité des partenaires engagés depuis des années dans ce programme, nouveaux arrivants (comme l’EYE Filmmuseum d’Amsterdam). 

Soutien de l’ACE (Association des Cinémathèques Européennes), consciente du rôle qu’ont à jouer les cinémathèques en matière d’éducation au cinéma à travers l’Europe.

En région Ile de France, la coordination sera assurée par l’association Documentaire sur Grand Ecran, en partenariat avec le Ciné 104.

L’avenir du CCAJ reste néanmoins encore en suspens.

Focus

Après le sujet du temps sur l’année 2020-2021 - lié à une période où la réalité devenait plus lointaine et abstraite - il nous semblé intéressant de revenir aux choses elles-mêmes. Elles sont la matière première du cinéma.

Mais si les choses filmées sont innombrables au sein d’un film, beaucoup sont résiduelles et n’accèdent pas au statut de motif.

Pour qu’une chose devienne motif, il faut que le cinéaste ait conscience de la façon dont il va la traiter (dans la mise en scène, dans le scénario, par le cadre et la lumière) pour qu’elle devienne un matériau de cinéma, une pièce importante de son film.

Comme un peintre qui choisit un bouquet de fleurs, une montagne ou un visage particulier pour en faire consciemment, avec la technique dont il dispose, un élément de sa toile et de sa représentation picturale du monde.

On retrouve les motifs à plusieurs niveaux, étroitement imbriqués dans la création du film.

Des choses du monde. L’arbre, le parapluie, la balançoire, etc. Le cinéaste commence par les choisir comme motifs dont il a besoin ou envie pour son film. Puis il doit faire un choix parmi les choses qui appartiennent à la même catégorie : tel arbre, telle bicyclette, etc.

Des sites scénographiques basiques et récurrents : l’escalier, le passage piétons, la fenêtre, etc. Certains motifs de cinéma, qui sont souvent des sites scénographiques, ont une grande puissance « racontante ». Ils induisent en même temps des situations scénariques et offrent des virtualités fortes de découpage, de points de vue et de filmage.

Des moyens spécifiques du cinéma. Le cinéma utilise volontiers des motifs visuels qui ont des affinités avec son langage et ses dispositifs spécifique : la fenêtre, le miroir, l’ombre, etc… La fenêtre, par exemple, est-elle filmée de l’extérieur de la maison, comme un cadre dans le cadre, ou au contraire depuis l’intérieur de la maison avec une « vue » sur l’extérieur ? Dans un plan ou quelqu’un se regarde dans un miroir, le cinéaste choisit de ne montrer que le reflet dans le miroir ou au contraire d’inclure dans le cadre le dos de celui qui se regarde. L’ombre d’un personnage est-elle filmée avec le personnage dans le même cadre ou au contraire l’ombre est-elle montrée de façon isolée, sans le personnage d’où elle provient ?

Des éléments émanant de la thématique personnelle du cinéaste. Certains cinéastes, comme certains peintres (Cézanne et la Sainte-Victoire, David Hockney et la piscine, Morandi et les bouteilles) ont des motifs de prédilection qui les inspirent et auxquels ils ne cessent de revenir. Comme les mains chez Bresson, les longs manteaux qui claquent au vent chez Sergio Leone, Les eaux stagnantes chez Tarkovski, les « fragments de nature » dans tous les films de Terrence Malick, etc.

Certains motifs finissent même par porter la marque singulière qu’un cinéaste leur a imprimée, et sont constitutifs de sa poétique. Par exemple, le motif « livre-visage » chez Godard.

De nombreux motifs de cinéma étaient déjà présents dans l’histoire de la peinture :  son suivra parfois la généalogie peinture-cinéma de certains motifs comme l’arbre, la chevelure, le miroir, la balançoire, etc.

Enfin, certains motifs visuels se retrouvant dans de très nombreux films, on pourra comparer comment les cinéastes les travaillent. Par exemple comment Jean Renoir, Nicholas Ray, Federico Fellini et Ingmar Bergman ont-ils filmé une femme à la balançoire ?

 Alain Bergala

 

Participants

ALLEMAGNE : Deutsche Kinemathek, Berlin (Jurek Sehrt) avec Universität Bremen - (Bettina Henzler ) / DFF – Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum, Francfort-sur-le-Main (Christine Kopf) ARGENTINE : Cero en Conducta, Rosario (Emiliano Ovejero, Ana Belén Pagiola) avec l'Institut Français d’Argentine / Quiero cine !, Buenos Aires (Florencia Fernández Feijoo) BRESIL : Imagens em Movimento – RAIAR, Rio de Janeiro (Ana Dillon) avec Cinemateca do Museu de Arte Moderna / Escola Carlitos, São Paulo (Manuela Mendez Leal Anabuki) avec Cinemateca Brasileira BULGARIE : Arte Urbana Collectif, Sofia (Ralitsa Assenova) avec Festival "Rencontres du Jeune Cinéma Européen"  CHILI : Cero en Conducta (Nicolas Guzman), avec Instituto de la Comunicación e Imagen - Universidad de Chile, Santiago (Maria Inés Silva) ESPAGNE : Cinema en curs - A Bao A Qu, Barcelone (Núria Aidelman) avec la Filmoteca de Catalunya FINLANDE : Valve film School for Children (Tommi Nevala) (nouveau) ITALIE : Cineforum Teramo, Teramo (Dimitri Bosi) JAPON : Children meet cinema, Tokyo (Etsuko Dohi) LITUANIE : Meno Avilys, Vilnius (Ginte Zulyte) PAYS BAS : EYE Filmmuseum, Amsterdam (Florine Wiebenga) (nouveau) PORTUGAL : Os Filhos de Lumière, Lisbonne (Teresa Garcia) avec Cinemateca Portuguesa - Museo do Cinema ROYAUME-UNI : British Film Institute, Londres (Mark Reid) / Screen Argyll - Ecosse (Alasdair Satchel) URUGUAY : Cineduca – CFE, Montevideo (Cecilia Cirillo Chiesa) avec Cinemateca Uruguaya.

FRANCE

AUVERGNE-RHÔNE-ALPES : Cinéma Mon Ciné, Saint-Martin-d’Hères (Pascale Puig) CORSE : Corsica.doc, Ajaccio et Cinémathèque de Corse, Porto-Vecchio (Annick Peigné-Giuly) GUADELOUPE : L’Artchipel, Scène nationale de la Guadeloupe (Suzie Belair) ILE-DE-FRANCE :  Le CCAJ !, Documentaire sur Grand Ecran, Ciné 104, Paris (Nathalie Bourgeois, Sabine Costa) MARTINIQUE : Tropiques Atrium, Scène nationale de Martinique, Basse-Terre (Steve Zebina) NOUVELLE-AQUITAINE : Cinéma L’Utopie, avec l’association L’Ecran livradais (Alexandre Anton) OCCITANIE : Institut Jean Vigo - Cinémathèque euro-régionale, Perpignan (Frédéric Borgia) PROVENCE-ALPES-CÔTE D'AZUR : Cinéma Jean Renoir, Martigues (Henri Denicourt)